Oh say can you C (25K) ?

September 11, 2006

Decided over the weekend to start up the couch to 5k running program again. After a year of not exercising or watching my eating, along with stress, it has taken a great toll on my body. I’ve known for a while, I need to get exercising again. But even with being at home now, working around a 3 year old child’s needs can be frustrating for trying to get in some quality workout time. I decided on the c25k because it only takes up 30 minutes three times a week. I will have to sacrifice some of the other things I normally do while he is napping (like blogging!), and get my 30 minutes in just as soon as he’s asleep. The being away from the house is a non-issue. Hubby already informed me he doesn’t want me running out on the road anymore as I have done in the past. Instead I will be running an ATV trail that circles the wooded portion of our property behind our house. I start at the front of the house and go around. I can look in on Landin each time I make a pass. I can handle that.

This morning I went out (I’m alone today) to give it a test. Didn’t follow the c25k schedule – just wogged and listened to what my body said. The trail is not challenging, as far as offroad goes. But it is way different than road running, and I will have to get used to it and make some adjustments. Way too easy to trip or loose one’s footing out here. I will probably end up getting some trail shoes to keep from breaking my neck. Another thing I need to do is get a digital watch. That is imperative for starting the c25k since I don’t know the actual distance of the trail. I’ll have to go by time instead.

What I learned this morning is that although I am overweight, I’m still not in as bad shape as I thought I was. Hooray for that. My legs did a little griping, but my cardiovascular system kept up pretty well. Of course, I didn’t push it or anything. That time will come. And the other thing I learned is that I have missed running greatly. I am not a proficient runner by any means, never have been. But who said you had to be great at something to enjoy it? I will never be a fast runner. But I will always enjoy doing it. C25K here I come…..

2 Responses to “Oh say can you C (25K) ?”

  1. Stacie said

    Great job on starting back up. I have been off the beaten path lately and today I am telling myself it is back to eating healthy and exercising. Good luck to both of us. 🙂

  2. Jo said

    Good for you!

    I wish wish wish I could get back into it. Figures the week that I plan on going I get my damn period. I absolutely abhor (did i use that in the right context) going to the gym during my period.

    Anywho, I can’t seem to stop eating either. Ugh. I’ll figure it out I guess.

    Keep u pthe good work!

Leave a Reply

